These little wonders, these twists & turns of fate…

{Listening to…}

Our lives are made In these small hours

These little wonders,

These twists & turns of fate

Time falls away,

But these small hours,

These small hours still remain

Let it slide,

Let your troubles fall behind you

Let it shine

Until you feel it all around you

And I don’t mind

If it’s me you need to turn to

We’ll get by,

It’s the heart that really matters in the end

I was really convinced that I would blog at least a little bit, but I turned around and my first semester of college is already over. Within the first half of the semester, I began to realize more and more that I was not meant to be majoring in dance. I don’t intend on becoming a prima ballerina or even dancing for a company (as tempting as the dream of becoming a Rockette is). More than ever I’ve been drawn to writing, directing, producing, and acting. Basically, film making in general. I think a better way to put is I am interested in storytelling. So I changed my major to theatre, and I have never felt more at peace about anything college related until now. I’m eagerly looking forward to next semester, when I will pick up my classes for theatre. Just yesterday I registered for my spring classes and all I could do was grin while I talked to our theatre director (also my advisor) about the coming theatre classes I would be taking. It was such a huge weight off my shoulders to turn in the drop slip that freed me from going to half a dozen dance classes every week. I stayed in one dance class (modern dance) because I do still enjoy dance and it will snag me one of the PE credits I need to graduate. A couple of months ago I worked the crew in the theatre at school (all dance majors did per request of our instructor/advisor) and I enjoyed it so much. It was a very small show and the atmosphere backstage was very slow and easygoing. I’ve had experience with hectic backstage environments with dance and I can tell already that I’m really going to love working crew. Not to mention I get to use the shop and learn how my school makes all their props. And then a few weeks ago I worked my first show as a theatre major! I also finally met people who I really get along with and connect with (basically we’re all weirdos..) Now I’m already starting on rehearsals for our dinner theatre that is in January. This time I’m actually in the show, which actually came as a surprise to me.

Towards the beginning of the semester (when I was still a dance major), I auditioned in our theatres open auditions. It was the first time I had ever auditioned for anything and I had simply shown up, not knowing anyone and not being prepared. Thankfully it was just a read through, because I didn’t have any monologues prepared. Everyone told me I did really well, but unfortunately they have to give preference to theatre majors during casting. During that read through we read a script for a dinner theatre spoof of Agatha Christie’s Poirot. I read for a character called Isabella, and I really enjoyed it! But since I didn’t get a part I didn’t really give any of it much thought from then on.

Then nearly my entire first semester went by before I started giving theatre serious thought. After changing my major as I said before, I met with my advisor to have her help me arrange my classes for next semester. Out of the blue, she said she really wanted me to be in their dinner theatre. I was under the assumption that this show had been cast for weeks, but I said I would totally be up for it.

Last month we had our first read through of the play and it was so much fun. I felt right at home, like I finally found people at school who were like me (also know as “freaks”). I got to read for Isabella again and became thoroughly convinced that it was the role that I wanted (even though I read for almost all the female roles). Seriously. Isabella falls into a wedding cake. I really wanted that part. Even though I have never done anything like this, I felt so relaxed and not nervous at all. It’s an extremely encouraging feeling, seeing as changing my major right before the deadline to drop classes this semester was kind of ridiculous to some people. I just felt it was the right thing to do for myself, and it turns out it was exactly what I needed. (Oh yeah, and I got the part of Isabella.)

Just like I learned about halfway through the semester that I needed to change my major for my own good, I’ve also discovered that I’m simply not in the right place. I live in south Georgia, and it feels like the most limiting, stifling, uneventful place in the entire state. I crave being surrounded by like-minded people. Creative people who strive to achieve goals and follow their dreams. South Georgia definitely isn’t the place to find those people. Not saying there aren’t any here (hey, I’m here aren’t I? and I’ve met some pretty amazing people here too) but most people come here because they are content to live in small town Georgia for the rest of their lives (nothing wrong with that either, it’s just not for everyone). The idea of moving to Orlando or Atlanta (or anywhere, really) and transferring schools after I have 30 credit hours keeps pushing its way into my brain and I don’t think I’m going to ignore it. I feel the need to prepare for it and not doing anything to work towards that goal makes me antsy. Since I really enjoy working in the shop backstage at school I think I’m going to look into a work-study job.

 

But anyway, enough serious adult mumbo jumbo, it’s Christmas time and it very literally snuck up on me! I had a great Thanksgiving, and we went to get a Christmas tree the day after with my sister Tana, brother-in-law, and friend Katrina. We also did some portrait photography that was so much fun! (hint, hint. future posts!)

 

Merry Christmas to you all ♥

Leave a Reply

